Warning: This story was published more than a year ago.


Did you know, according to a 2008 survey, nine out of 10 British children can correctly identify a Dalek? You have to admit they are pretty distinctive: the metal domes, the singular eye stalk, the shrill screech of “Exterminate! Exterminate!”
Ever since they were introduced in December 1963, Daleks have become an inseparable part of the Dr Who franchise, and are responsible for scaring the bejeebers out of many a small child, myself included, in my youth. In 1999 Daleks even featured on a postage stamp in the UK, in a series highlighting British cultural icons.
Dr Who: The Dalek Collection features seven Dalek episodes from the Dr Who reboot (no classics here), from the Ninth Doctor, Christopher Eccleston, to the Tenth Doctor, David Tennant. Overall there are some great episodes (although a few could have been better). Nevertheless, the Daleks’ redesign looks fantastic.
The downside of choosing only the Dalek episodes, however, is that the collection leaves some rather large (even for Dr Who) plot gaps between episodes. Those unfamiliar with the series could be left wondering who key characters are, or why they have suddenly disappeared by the next episode. 
Dr Who is one of those shows that people either tend to love or hate, and the appeal of this set will largely depend on your own personal tastes. For those in the former group, this is a great collection for a casual fan; those who are more serious might want to look at a complete season instead.

Interested in this topic?
We can put you in touch with an expert.

Follow Us


next-story-thumb Scroll down to read: