Story image

Facebook continues the Snapchat cloning process with "Messenger Day" update

10 Mar 2017
Twitter
Facebook

If it wasn’t for the distinct lightning bolt icon on your phone, you’d almost mistake the new version of Facebook Messenger for a Snapchat clone - now more than ever.

The global social networking giant is rolling out another feature on its Android and iOS apps - this time it’s 'Messenger Day'. 

The new feature allows users to share their photos and videos with friends, but only for 24 hours. The content then disappears, and Facebook says this means users can add ‘as often as they want’.

The company says 'millions of people' have already used Messenger Day. But Facebook isn’t the only Snapchat clone: Instagram and WhatsApp have similar features.

Facebook says Messenger Day users also have control over who sees their ‘Day’ posts: Everyone or just specific people. If users wants to delete something, they can just tap on the image at the top of their inbox, tap three dots at the bottom right hand corner, then click delete.

Facebook claims its camera functionality has been a huge success with ‘billions of photos’ sent since its launch at the end of last year. It apparently saw that users were engaging with visual tools such as art and floating effects. At the same time, it was trialing Messenger Day, which is now being rolled out to all users.

For those wanting to use Messenger Day, here’s how it works:

First make sure you’ve updated your Messenger app so you have the latest version.

  • Open Messenger, and tap on the camera highlighted with a sun to celebrate this launch. Doing so drops you right into the full-screen camera. Or, tap the “Add to your day” button at the top of your inbox to get started.
  • Snap a quick selfie or take a photo or video of what’s around you.
  • To add art and effects, tap the smiley face icon in the top right and then tap to add to your photo or video. You can also add text over your images by tapping the “Aa” icon, and you can overlay a drawing by tapping the squiggly line in the top right corner.
  • Once you have your photo or video the way you want it, tap the arrow in the bottom right corner. You can then add directly to your day, save it to your phone’s camera roll, and/or you can choose to send it to a specific person or group of people. The photo or video that you add to your day will be viewable for 24 hours.
Story image
14 Aug
Five ways smart TVs are at risk of cyber attacks
Android TV is the most popular operating system for TVs – but it’s also vulnerable to many malware strains that affect other Android devices, because it shares the same base architecture.More
Story image
19 Aug
GitHub Classroom will now work with Google Classroom & more
GitHub’s learning platform GitHub Classroom will now work with popular student platforms including Canvas, Google Classroom, and Moodle.More
Story image
13 Aug
LIFX sneak peek: These lights turn the home into a rainbow of colour
There’s nothing like a little more ambient light to decorate your home. In October, LIFX will be back with two new options to light up your life.More
Story image
12 Aug
Rocket Lab joins Skills Bright Sparks to inspire Kiwi kids
“I’ve been fascinated with space ever since I was a kid but when I was at school, I was told to be ‘realistic’ and bring my ideas back down to Earth,” says Peter Beck. More
Story image
13 Aug
Prudential Corporation Asia launches next generation health app
A new app known as ‘Pulse’ has been launched by Prudential Corporation Asia to provide an AI-powered, 24/7 health partner to users, allowing them to better understand their personal health.More
Story image
16 Aug
Waikato Uni opens NZ's first esports arena
"People are still of the opinion that gamers are the nerds in the corner who have no social skills, doing something that won’t take you anywhere in life. But this initiative is a step towards showing people that esports can lead to many opportunities in a billion-dollar industry.”More