FutureFive NZ - Review: LEGO Star Wars: The Force Awakens is mega fun

Warning: This story was published more than a year ago.

Review: LEGO Star Wars: The Force Awakens is mega fun

The Force is strong with LEGO Star Wars: The Force Awakens as it includes all of the great moments and characters from the popular movie and more.

​If you were disappointed that Star Wars Battlefront lacked a single player campaign, you'll be happy to know that LEGO Star Wars: The Force Awakens has one and it recreates all of your favourite scenes from the movie. Not only that, but it also includes extra side missions that expand on the overall lore.

​Star Wars: The Force Awakens quickly became one of my favourite movies of all time when I watched it last December. However, I was sad to hear that there was no video game based on the movie available at the time apart from an expansion with Disney Infinity 3.0. The expansion play set was a disappointment in my opinion because it was only 3 hours long and was missing lots of characters.

​LEGO Star Wars: The Force Awakens rectifies the mistakes made from Disney Infinity 3.0 as it is more of a complete package. The single player campaign lasts around six to seven hours long plus there are many side missions that you can unlock along the way. Not to mention loads of characters are unlockable for free. You can play as the likes of Rey, Finn, Han Solo, Chewbacca, General Leia and more.

​Not only are the characters playable, but this game also has space battles. Space battles weren't featured in Star Wars Battlefront so it's great to see them adding it here in this game. Unlike previous LEGO Star Wars video games, the vehicle sections aren't on-rails all of the time so you can fly around the X-Wing and/or Millennium Falcon without too many restrictions. 

Gameplay wise, developer TT Fusion has added a ton of new features that freshens up the experience. There are new shooting segments added to the missions that play like a third-person shooter. These segments are action-packed and they add a whole new way of playing the game.

​The game is not always about action as there are many puzzles for you to solve along the way. TT Fusion did a good job of making every character useful in their own way. Characters like Finn and Han Solo are good at shooting while Rey is acrobatic. Droids like BB-8 on the other hand excel at unlocking doors.  

​The presentation is immaculate as pretty much every location in the film has been recreated accurately. The beautiful planet of Takodana looks stunning as you are flying inside the X-Wing above the pristine waters. The final battle is also great as the lightsabers glow brightly in the dark snowy forest on Starkiller base. 

​The audio in LEGO Star Wars: The Force Awakens is the best I have heard in a video game in a long time. TT Fusion managed to get all of the actors to reprise their roles including Harrison Ford and Carrie Fisher. Both Fisher and Ford were missing in Disney Infinity 3.0 as only the new actors were in that game.

​Speaking of Disney Infinity 3.0, that game lacked the new musical score from John Williams. LEGO Star Wars The Force Awakens adds the new musical set pieces and they blend in well with the levels. The music adds to the overall atmosphere as it felt like I was really watching/experiencing the movie again.

​In terms of flaws, the only thing that can be criticised is that it's still a LEGO game and it's aimed towards kids. This means the game is easy and short because you have infinite lives. The game also got a little slow in chapter 7 when you are just at the Resistance Base fetching for items and not doing much action.

​Overall though, LEGO Star Wars: The Force Awakens is a blast and it's easily one of my favourite movie-based video games of all time. It's far more fun to play than Disney Infinity 3.0 and includes loads of single player content. This is a must buy if you love Star Wars: The Force Awakens.

Verdict: 9.0/10 


Interested in this topic?
We can put you in touch with an expert.

Follow Us


next-story-thumb Scroll down to read: